The SIGRAV Prizes

Two “SIGRAV Prizes” (for “Classical and Quantum Gravity” and “Astrophysics, Cosmology and Experimental Gravity”) are awarded by SIGRAV every two years, to young Italian scientists of age not exceeding 40 at the time of the nomination (see below), who have given relevant contributions to General Relativity and Gravitational Physics.

SIGRAV Prizes were awarded to:

1994 Massimo BianchiAugusto Sagnotti, Pietro Tricarico
1998 Gabriele GhiselliniMassimo Porrati
2000 Alessandra BuonannoLuigi StellaMario VietriAlberto Zaffaroni
2002 Viviana FafoneMassimo GiovanniniAlberto Vecchio
2004 Carlo AngelantonjGiovanni Miniutti
2006 Marta BurgayClaudio Dappiaggi
2008 Gianguido Dall’AgataMichele Vallisneri
2010 Dario MartelliRosalba PernaAlessandro Tomasiello
2012 Fabrizio Canfora, Mariafelicia De Laurentis, Dario Francia

Regulations concerning the SIGRAV Prizes

Two categories of “SIGRAV Prizes”, one for “Classical and Quantum Gravity” and one for “Astrophysics, Cosmology and Experimental Gravity”, are awarded every two years by the Italian Society of General Relativity and Gravitation to Italian scientists aged not more than 40 years when they are nominated (see below) who have given relevant contributions to General Relativity and Gravitational Physics.

The selected candidates are proposed for approval to the Board by a Committee of five members that includes the SIGRAV President and is appointed by the SIGRAV President following a proposal by the Board.

The Committee selects the candidates among scientists who have received well-motivated written nominations. The Committee encourages external nominations, and/or external indications on the nominations that are received, before deciding. The Committee can convene or discuss and decide via email.

The Committee takes into account geographic and thematic considerations, insofar as this does not conflict with the scientific quality of the Prizes.

One of the Committee members is appointed by the SIGRAV President to act as Coordinator. The Coordinator collects the nominations, maintains the contacts with the Society and sets the time schedule of the process.

The SIGRAV Prizes are awarded during the National Conferences, and are accompanied by Diplomas that mention their category (“Classical and Quantum Gravity” or “Astrophysics, Cosmology and Experimental Gravity”).

The actual award reception is subject to the participation in the corresponding National Conference.

Nominations are collected during the year preceding every National Conference and the SIGRAV President announces the winners four months before the corresponding National Conference.

The Board reviews periodically the structure of the Prizes (typically every four years) in order to take into account possible modifications suggested by the previous experience, and updates the Committee before every new edition.